Thematic Research Areas 2019

Independent Research Fund Denmark’s main task is to provide financial support to concrete and fixed-term research activities based on researchers’ own ideas. Moreover, the 2017 legislation introduced the possibility of DFF being able to award grants to concrete research activities within politically determined themes or instruments, when special funding has been provided for this purpose in the National Budget. In 2019 funds are allocated to two thematic research areas.

In 2019 Independent Research Fund Denmark (DFF) will grant funding for thematic research in the following areas:

○ Digital technologies (AI etc.) (RESEARCH2025)
○ People and society (RESEARCH2025)

The thematic research specifically aims at contributing to solving important societal challenges. Research in the two areas, which DFF will grant funding to can in a broad sense contribute to creating short or long term value in society and aims at supporting the public sector’s opportunities to effectively create a better framework for people and society, as well as developing generic knowledge and talent base within digital technologies, which are crucial in underpinning and expanding Denmark’s position as a digital pioneer country.

For the research to have the best chance at unleashing societal potential, RESEARCH2025 emphasises
the following factors:
• Inter-disciplinarity and user engagement in the research projects
• Focus on excellent research and collaboration with leading international research environments
• Conversion of research into education that meets the needs of society
• Conversion of research into knowledge dissemination and innovation in the public sector

In 2019, the fund has set up two expert committees to assess the applications and decide on the implementation of thematic funding. The committees consist partly of members from the academic research councils, and partly of international experts within the respective research areas.

DFF  | Digital technology 

Peter Gorm Larsen, professor, Department of Engineering, Aarhus University and member of DFF |Technology and Production (chair of the committee)
Anne-Marie Søndergaard Christensen, associate professor, Department for the Study of Culture, University of Southern Denmark and member of DFF | Humanities
Dexter Kozen, professor, Computer Science Department, Cornell University
Gerd Kortuem, professor, Department Design Engineering, Delft University of Technology
Giuseppe F. Italiano, professor, Computer Science, LUISS University 
Lars Birkedal, professor, Department of Computer Science, Aarhus University and member of DFF | Natural Sciences
Lars Kai Hansen, professor, Department of Matemathics and Computer Science, Technical University of Denmark and former member of DFF |Technology and  Production 
Liu Weiru, professor, Artificial Intelligence, University of Bristol
Marta Kwiatkowski, professor, Oxford University
Michael Mitzenmacher, professor, Computer Sciences, Harvard University
Orna Kupferman, professor, School of Computer Science and Engineering, Hebrew University
Rickard Sandberg, professor, Stockholm School of Economics 

DFF  | People and society

Ole Hammerslev, professor, Department of Law, University of Southern Denmark and member of DFF | Social Sciences (chair of committee)
Anne Sigfrid Grønseth, professor, Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences
Carina Mood, professor, Swedish institute for social research, Stockholm University
Elisabeth Staksrud, professor, Department of Media of Communication, Oslo University
Inger Johanne Sand, Head of department, Department of Public and International Law, The Faculty of Law, Oslo
Helge Hvid, dr.scient.soc., Department of People and Technology, Roskilde University and former member of  DFF | Social Sciences
Henning Finseraas, researcher, Institute for Social Research, Oslo
Kirsten Frandsen, professor, School of Communication and Culture, Media Studies, Aarhus University and member of DFF | Humanities
Merete Osler, professor, Department of Public Health, Rigshospitalet and former member of DFF| Medical Sciences
Palle Rasmussen, professor emeritus, Department of Learning and Philosophy, Aalborg University, former member of DFF |Humanities 
Thomas Bak, Head of department, Department of Electronic Systems, Aalborg University and member of DFF | Technology and Production   
Paola Valero, professor, Department of Mathematics and Science Education, Stockholm University 

Here you can read the thematic research call for proposals 2019